Black Fly Shares Eerie, Calming “Sadsap” From ‘Black Fly Vol 01’ out 4/23 via Samedi Records

March 23 2021

Black Fly, aka enigmatic Vermont-based musician and visual artist Joseph Rittling, today offers another eerie-yet-calming release. Listen to “Sadsap,” stacked with layers of synthesizers, driving basslines, and electronic drum beats HERE & watch the icy visualizer HERE.

Rittling is an expert at creating deeply felt, cinematic pieces of music inspired by the sprawling Vermont landscape that surrounds him. You can sense the largeness – and even feel the serene quiet of it – while horns are expertly flitting around his powerful yet gravelly voice, which booms and rattles with recklessness above the intricate foundations of the track. Even the most delicate piano moments can withstand the weight of his voice and glisten all that much brighter because of it. 

The visualizer for “Sadsap” builds upon the concept for the previous single, “Kingdom.” Both of these lonely, glowing, slow-mo-like-a-dragging-dream cuts of the digital film give a sense of another world while simultaneously grounding us to the possibilities that are within reach in our own. That feeling is acutely reflected in the dark, pulsing synths layered up against an optimistic, joyful trumpet line. It’s not often you’ll hear horns used in electronic music this way, but it offers calm amidst a rumbling, brooding storm.

As Black Fly, Rittling has made early fans at Fader, Consequence, The Line Of Best Fit, The Most Radicalist and more for singles dropped over the years. This is the last single before Black Fly Vol 01 arrives on April 23rd via Samedi Records (altopalo). 

Black Fly Vol 01 will be out April 23rd, 2021 via Samedi Records, pre-order it here.

1. Dipped
2. Sign2
3. Sadsap
4. Kingdom
5. Green
6. No Fool
7. Cabbage
8. My Room
9. Z’s Ocean
10. Wait

Stay connected with Black Fly:
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Website