DijahSB Announces ‘Head Above The Waters’ out April 23, 2021; Listen To New Single ‘By Myself Feat. Harrison’

February 19 2021

Toronto-based rapper DijahSB today announces their forthcoming album Head Above The Waters out April 23rd, 2021. They also share new single “By Myself,” produced with JUNO-nominated Toronto producer, Harrison (Jon Hopkins, Cashmere Cat, Ryan Hemsworth). “By Myself” is an honest look at what it takes to survive with Dijah laying verses over a mellow, slowed-down tempo, listen HERE.

Quick-witted, agile, inspirational without being preachy, DijahSB’s music is a raw look into the mind of a Black non-binary artist rapping their way through hope, heartbreak, and breakthroughs.

On “By Myself,” Dijah shares, “’By Myself’ gives you a little bit of insight on what my album ‘Head Above The Waters’ tries to tackle. I also wanted to slow it down and show people that I’m not always about sh*t that can make you dance; I got bars too. Harrison is like a brother to me and i haven’t even met him yet. He really blessed me with a hot ass beat.”

Dijah makes navigating synth loops, booming bass claps, and smoothed out production look easy; “By Myself” is no exception. The song is a celebration of Dijah’s own perseverance, confidence, and talent: “step back unless you giving me checks / my life ain’t perfect but I live it the best / while still keeping it fresh / i’m as different as different gets / the bars hit you like a kick in the chest  / I don’t fumble at all / I just do it for the love of it all.” 

Dijah has been emerging out of Toronto’s hip hop scene as a standout artist on the precipice of international stardom, recently earning high praise for their first release of 2021 (“Throw That Back”) from the likes of NPR, OkayPlayer, among others, and previously from Vice, The FaderComplex, and more. Their music is absolutely buzzing, effortlessly gliding across drum-heavy boom bap, grungy guitar rock, and trap’s booming bass with lyrics that are raw, relatable – a small light pushing through dark cracks of an artist in a constant state of observation and growth. 

Dijah cites Kid Cudi, Pusha T, and Lupe Fiasco as some of their main influences and idols, but their emcee style is so unique and fun, it’s hard to compare. Ever earnest and open about their struggles with depression, mental health, and financial instability, their music serves as a balm; a friend baring battle scars that might serve to soothe your own. 

Head Above The Waters by DijahSB is out April 23rd, 2021, pre-save/pre-order it here.

1. Moving With Tides (Feat. Ray HMND)
2. Throw That Back
3. Head Above The Waters
4. Way Too Many Ways
5. Overtime (Feat. Chris Castello)
6. By Myself (Feat. Harrison)
7. New Harrison
8. Big Waves

Stay connected with DijahSB:
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter