FELIVAND shares debut album Ties via Sweat It Out!

Photo by James Caswell
August 10 2022

1. Way Out

2. Stolen Seats

3. Not My Way

4. Safe Here

5. Butterfly Wings

6. Where Were You

7. Big Little

8. Ripple Effect

9. Lately

10. My Cool

11. Ride Home

12. Seasons

22-year-old Meanjin/Brisbane, Australia-based singer, songwriter and producer, FELIVAND, today releases her exquisite debut album, Ties: a gorgeous blend of Bedroom Pop and Alternative R&B, via Sweat It Out. Listen HERE + watch ‘Stolen Seats’ HERE.

“Stolen Seats” is a warm, soft, glowing collage of tiny moments where FELIVAND asks, “If we could see ourselves from our loved ones point of view, would we love or hate ourselves more?”

Speaking on the release of Ties, FELIVAND says: “I have dreamt of recording an album ever since I was little, so to see ‘Ties’ in its final form brings me a childish joy and satisfaction I can’t quite put into words. I have never felt more aligned with or proud of anything I have written before.”

Although FELIVAND still records in much the same manner as she began – an abundant flurry of noodling around with samples, bass lines, vocal stacks and chords, cocooned in her bedroom’s secluded sphere of creation – Ties sees her open this once private sphere to outside collaborators including Wes Singerman & Taydex (Princess Nokia, Kehlani, Anderson Paak), Maxwell Byrne (Mallrat, Allday, Cub Sport) Ed Quinn (Slum Sociable, Sycco), Tristan Hoogland (Joji, James Blake), and more.

An imprint of FELIVAND’s rich and talented inner-world, Ties represents a journey of self-care, curiosity and introspection. FELIVAND harnesses her songwriting talents to turn observations and reflection into lasting sonic memories, inflected with indulgent neo-soul energy. The entirety of the record is a testament to her keen ear for immaculately crisp production, subtly showing off het silky, bright, addictive voice.

Influenced by the likes of Kali Uchis, Solange, James Blake, among others, FELIVAND’s recent projects have garnered praise from Billboard, COLORS, triple j, Rage, NME, Apple Music (New Artist of the Week), and more. Prior to her album singles “Where Were You”“Butterfly Wings” and “Not My Way”, FELIVAND’s 2020 sophomore EP, Nerve, arrived a bewitching, seamless slide into slinkier, darker shades of pop for her soul-tinged music. It marked a distinctive maturation in sound from debut EP, In Bloom, that now boasts more than 12 million streams combined. Through the end of the summer, she’ll be playing a string of headline shows at home in Australia to celebrate her debut album and her journey thus far.