Haviah Mighty’s anticipated LP, Crying Crystals, out now

Photo by Yung Yemi
July 14 2023

PRAISE FOR Haviah Mighty



“"a true storyteller"”

Rolling Stone

“"Haviah Mighty is poised to break out internationally"”


“"equally adept at breezy confidence, rapid-fire spitting, sneering menace, and laconic cool"”

NPR Music

“"ominous, bass-heavy beats and hard-nosed bars that could go toe-to-toe with any challenger."”


“Best International Flow Nominee”

BET Awards

1. Snowfall Ft. Zach Zoya (Confusion) 
2. Lil Baby Ft. Zach Zoya (Denial) 
3. Stress Free (Sadness) 
4. Huh (Disappointment) 
5. Sensational Ft. Jess B (Frustration) 
6. Boundaries (Guilt) 
7. Main Character (Anger) 
8. Honey Bun (Flawed Confidence) 
9. Zoom Zoom Ft. Omega Mighty (Relapse) 
10. Room Service (Bargaining) 
11. All The Time (Acceptance) 
12. Manifest It Ft. Jean Deaux (Real Confidence) 
13. Outro

Crying Crystals by Haviah Mighty is out now, buy/stream it here.

Toronto-based musical giant, Haviah Mighty today independently releases Crying Crystals, featuring appearances from a diverse roster of rappers including Chicago mainstay Jean Deaux, New Zealander JessB, talented singer and her sister Omega Mighty, and Montreal native Zach Zoya; it was co-executive produced by Haviah Mighty and Amir Jamm (Madonna, Preme), alongside Bizness Boi (Lil Baby, J.Cole, 6LACK, Rihanna), Derelle Rideout (Lil Uzi Vert, Saweetie, Kodak Black, Gucci Mane), Tony Parker (Smiley, OhGeesy, 42 Dugg), among others. With the anticipated album, she also shares a visualizer for the focus track, “Manifest It ft. Jean Deaux.” Listen to Crying Crystals HERE.

Haviah Mighty is joined by Jean Deaux in “Manifest It,” her unapologetic claim to glory. Haviah Mighty leans into her emblematic heavy beats as she confidently owns her greatness, leaving her listeners without a doubt that she is one who will be remembered. The track serves as a bookend to her album and is a clear picture of where she stands in her journey with the release of Crying Crystals, which explores new soundscapes and floats between hip-hop, dance, pop, and even plays with afro and amapiano energies as new ways of storytelling, and delves inward thematically.

Of the album, Haviah Mighty says, “A lot of my previous works, like 13th Floor and Stock Exchange have been observational in nature; me finding my perspective on what I perceive within society, and reflecting on that. Because of this, I’ve created a lot of politically-charged music, tackling concepts larger than, and outside of myself. With this project, I went inward-leading to a huge amount of personal and internal growth over the past year. This project documents the emotional journey experienced through a long-winded and tumultuous relationship-the toxic thoughts, the moments and realities of a failing relationship-from the beginning of the end, to the end.

She continues, “Each song speaks to an emotional stage of that journey, starting with confusion, denial, sadness…to flawed confidence, the need to relapse, the need to bargain again for this failing love… all the way through to acceptance, understanding, and the ability to truly, and healthily, move on. I’m no longer simply a mirror of what’s going on around us. I’ve become a much more self-aware human being… like all of my artistic endeavors, the takeaway is to influence strength within self, especially with how easy it is to lose yourself in others. To be able to navigate through this confusing world with a sense of internal clarity–that’s the level up. That, is the endless tears, solidifying into gems. That, is Crying Crystals.”

All eyes are on Haviah after becoming the first woman to win the JUNO (Grammy equivalent) in the Best Rap Album/EP of the Year category for her 2021 Stock Exchange mixtape – from her fans who eagerly await each release, to the critics who sing her praise at NPR, COLORSxSTUDIOS, Sway In The Morning, BBC Radio 1, HipHopDX, HotNewHipHop, FADER, Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, KEXP, & more. Haviah also won the Prism Prize for her powerful video for 13th Floors Thirteen” from the album that made her the first Hip Hop artist and first Black woman to win the Polaris Prize. She was the only Canadian to be nominated for Best International Flow for 2022’s BET Hip Hop awards, and to top it off she just wrapped up a string of tour dates opening for Sampa The Great.

Throughout her career, Haviah Mighty has tackled a range of deeply felt ideas and topics: the roots of capitalism, systemic racism, self-awareness, independence, strength in community, and beyond. On Stock Exchange we saw Haviah’s growth as a producer and her expansion as a collaborator (she’s worked with TOBi, Jalen Santoy, Mala Rodríguez, Shad, Dj Charlie B, and more). Today, Crying Crystals is by far the most refined and fully-realized to date, as it shows her next advancement as an artist unafraid to evolve. It is sure to open up a next-level chapter for Haviah Mighty.

Keep in touch