Maribou State share new album Kingdoms In Colour out today via Counter Records

September 6 2018

Maribou State today share their new album Kingdoms In Colour via Ninja Tune’s Counter Recordsimprint. It is the band’s first full-length since 2015’s breakthrough debut album Portraits and features previous singles ‘Feel Good’ – a collaboration born of their friendship with Houston-based trio Khruangbin; ‘Turnmills’ – aimed at raising awareness for The Night Time Industries Association’s #SaveNightlife campaign to protect the UK’s most vulnerable music venues from closure; and continues their long standing relationship with Holly Walker (vocalist on fan favourites ‘Steal’ and ‘Midas’) on most recent single ’Nervous Tics‘. Listen to Kingdoms In Colour in full HERE.

Last week the pair also shared the recent Maceo Plex remix of ‘Nervous Tics (feat. Holly Walker)’ – the first in a series of remixes set for release, from the likes of DJ Tennis, Adesse Versions and more to be announced soon.

Inspired by the field recordings they made around the world while travelling and touring Portraits – the response to which was phenomenal, amassing well over 80 million streams alone – the album is a “sonic collage”, drawing on ideas and sketches that were written and recorded in places in Asia, Australia, Morocco, America and beyond.

The first album felt quite insular for us” says Chris, “not just in sound, but literally that it was all written in The Shack. We always had a bigger idea of what we wanted it to be, we wanted to create something that was palpable, that could in some way transport you to another country or another place entirely in your mind”. “The idea with Maribou State was always to draw on influences from different parts of the world” continues Liam “by traveling, sampling, recording, we wanted to create this all encompassing thing. Which is what this second record has ended up being for us”.

Expanding to a 5-piece band for their upcoming live shows, and with a shorter run of UK and EU dates later this year, including sold-out stops at the Roundhouse in London, LeedsBerlin and Amsterdam– the tour comes off the back of a summer spent headlining Sonar by Day in Barcelona, Parklife FestivalRoskildePukkelpop FestivalNova Batida and closing the second stage at All Points East, playing after Flying Lotus.

Beginning life in 2011 as a project between Chris Davids and Liam Ivory, Maribou State had released a string of EP’s and singles before the arrival of debut album Portraits propelled them to the world stage. Spawning a live show that took them around the globe and included standout festival performances at GlastonburyBestival, a headline slot at Secret Garden Party; a 32-date European tour with two sold-out London shows including the legendary KOKO; plus dates throughout Asia, Australia and America. They received radio support from the likes of Annie Mac, Zane Lowe and Gilles Peterson, addition to the BBC 6 Music A-list, a 5-show BBC Radio 1 Residency, a slot on the legendary BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix and performed a session Live from Maida Vale. Critical support came from the likes of The Guardian, I-D magazine and Vogue, with the album amassing over 80 million streams to date and drawing comparisons to acts such as The xx, James Blake & Mount Kimbie, as well earning them plaudits from the likes of DJ Koze and Bonobo.

Maribou State will be touring live at one of the following UK / EU dates this year and in worldwide in 2019, including their biggest headline show to date at London’s O2 Academy Brixton this March, having sold-out their upcoming Roundhouse show in a matter of weeks. See dates and details here.

1. Beginner’s Luck
2. Kingdom
3. Turnmills
4. Nervous Tics (feat. Holly Walker)
5. Glasshouses
6. Part Time Glory
7. Feel Good (feat. Khruangbin)
8. Slow Heat (feat. Holly Walker)
9. Vale
10. Kāma

Out now via Counter Records.
Buy/stream it here.