Mono/Poly announces ‘Monotomic’ LP out July 26, 2019 featuring Kaytranada, Kimbra, Thundercat

June 27 2019

 Photo credit: The1Point8 Photo credit: The1Point8

Today Los Angeles based music producer Mono/Poly, aka Charles Dickerson, announces his forthcoming full-length album, Monotomic, out July 26, 2019 via NAYMLIS Records. The 13-track LP, his most immersive yet accessible album yet, features Kaytranda, Kimbra, Thundercat, Alyss, and more. Inspired by a lucid dream, Monotomic, continues to showcase Mono/Poly’s rich, textured sonic interpretation of abstract experiences and life-changing moments. He also confirms a worldwide tour in support of the new album including release shows in London, NYC, LA and more– all announced dates below.

Listen and watch the video for new track “When I’m Coming For Ya” via FADER here

Mono/Poly has become a staple in the electronic music community over the last +10 years. Known for his unique blend of interstellar, synth-driven, and textured experimental electronic music, he is inspired by everything from ambient to acid house, G-funk, and R&B. Charles has previously released music independently, as well as with respected labels Brainfeeder Records, Warp Records, among others. He’s also collaborated with almost every revered electronic producer in LA including Flying Lotus, Ras G, Thundercat, Knxwledge, among others.

Originally from Bakersfield, CA, Charles moved to Los Angeles in the early 2000s and came up in the Low End Theory scene, a weekly beloved (now defunct) underground experimental/hip hop club night. His debut record, Paramatma (Taseful Licks Records, 2010), introduced his unique perspective on electronic music seen through the lens of astral soundscapes, Eastern philosophy, metaphysics, and politics. This first release would pave the way for collaborations with Ras G, Thundercat, Flying Lotus and ultimately a record deal with Brainfeeder in 2011.

Since 2011, Mono/Poly has continued to steadily release music both collaboratively and solo, garnering praise from Pitchfork, Fader, the BBC, Stereogum, Resident Advisor, among others. Charles has also established himself as part of the respected print crew HIT + RUN; featured on Thundercat’s “Heartbreaks + Setbacks” (Apocalypse, 2013); produced music for Grand Theft Auto’s soundtrack; contributed to Kendrick Lamar’s surprise album untitled unmastered; and launched a joint project with London-based vocalist, Alyss.

Stay tuned for more Mono/Poly music and news to come soon!

Monotomic is out July 26, 2019 via NAYMLIS

1. When I’m Coming For Ya
2. Easy Living ft Kimbra
3. Hell is in
4. Your Mind
5. Low End Theory
6. Psychedelic Sasquatch
7. Vision Quest ft Alyss
8. Audio Dope
9. Sage ft Mean Bacharach
10. I’m Lit Like Fire
11. Close Your Eyes & Shut Your Mouth ft Alyss
12. Praise Be To The Sun Absolute


“lush electronic burbles, atmospheric hum, unexpected melodies, and clattering percussion”
Spin Magazine

“an instrumental beat record where texture matters more than just about anything else from genre to mood”

“an artistically uncompromising vision and beautiful beatscapes”
Under The Radar

“Beatless opener “Manifestations” could just as easily be a Boards of Canada vignette, as analogue synths shimmer and textured crackle ripples across both channels.”
Resident Advisor

July 12 – Brooklyn, NY – Baby’s All Right
July 26 – Los Angeles, CA – (venue TBA)
Sept 20 – London, UK – Earth Hall (w/ Jay Electronica)

Stay connected with Mono/Poly:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram