Plastic World’s debut Volume 1 compilation out now ft. new tracks from Sampa The Great + Mondo Freaks

August 18 2016

Sydney’s electronic label Plastic World are proud to release their first compilation titled Volume 1 out today.

The compilation marks three special years of existence for the young label that hold a “promote what you love” ethos and have made waves with some of the most forward-thinking Australian electronic artists such as Alba, GL, Hugo Frederick, Retiree, Tuff Sherm and Cassius Select.

Volume 1 is a collection of exclusives tracks from artists representing every corner of the country’s growing underground electronic music scene. Limited not by genres, the compilation features an all-embracing mix of pop, disco, funk soul and ambient house from artists new and old to the scene.

Following the previously released tracks from funk/disco house five-piece The Possé and R&B heavyweights Silent Jay & Jace XL, come another 14 exclusives from Tim Shiel, Opal E, Spvrs, Lizprom & Nite Fleit, Thomas William, Young Spice, Sam Weston, Hugo Frederick, BODY CORP, Dreems and Kane Ikin. 

Two highlights of the compilation come from Melbourne’s four-piece Mondo Freaks and Zambian-born, Sydney-based poet, rapper and songwriter Sampa The Great.

Love Rain Down‘ is the latest track by Mondo Freaks – a retro-futurist duet exploring the love between a woman and her computer. Featuring the electric bass wizardry of Luke Hodgson, Dave Evans‘ spacey synthesizations, the incomparable Talk-Box skills of Danny Dharumasena and Jade MacRae‘s passion-drenched vocals, Mondo Freaks travel to the future ’84 style. Listen to it below.

Sampa The Great also shares her distinct style of conscious, complex hip-hop to the compilation with ‘Wonderland’. Of the track Sampa says, “It is about the journey and realisation of a dream turned reality. The dream being wonderland and I as Alice. Sometimes when your dreams are all of a sudden reality! You sort of feel like you are momentarily in Wonderland.

This is the first of many more releases from the young label.

Hear it all now:
Buy on iTunesBuy on Bandcamp – Stream now


1. ‘Tides’ – Silent Jay & Jace XL
2. ‘Wonderland’ – Sampa the Great
3. ‘My Way 2 U’ – Young Spice
4. ‘Cosmos’ – Vulture St Tape Gang
5. ‘Love Rain Down’ – Mondo Freaks
6. ‘MS-DOS’ – The Possé
7. ‘Night Rider’ – Spvrs
8. ‘Pipe Dreams’ – Opal E
9. ‘Why Aren’t You Dance’ – Lizprom & Nite Fleit
10. ‘Ideal (2014)’ – Sam Weston
11. ‘Universal Soldier’ – Hugo Frederick
12. ‘4G Swirl’ – Thomas William
13. ‘Laserdisc’ – Kane Ikin
14. ‘Mind Drone feat. Aphir (Ambient mix)’ – Tim Shiel
15. ‘Kings Hwy Bwood’ – Dreems
16. ‘Efforts’ – BODY CORP.

Volume 1 is out now via Plastic World.